Summer Book Reviews

I’m very excited about all that God has for me this summer.  He is teaching me how to rest.  This is a HUGE challenge for me.  Part of my problem is that I really, really enjoy the things that God has called me to do. I enjoy them so much that it is easy for me to get out of balance.  It has been so long since I have really rested that I have no idea what this looks like.  This is something that He has to teach me and something that I really want to learn.

One of the ways that I like to rest is to read. For many years I have filled my reading time with books that I was going to use in my literature classes. I enjoyed those books but it wasn’t the same as just reading for me. This summer I am reading books because I want to read them and with no other productive purpose in mind. I’m enjoying this so much that I thought I would write about the things that stand out in these books. I’ve read eight books since the beginning of June.  Most of my reviews are about how these books touched my own personal life.  I also want to keep a lot of these things close to my heart and mind and I know if I write about them, they will reside deeper in me.

Leave a Reply

