$4.40 worth of peace and quiet

moneybags I don’t know why but every time David, almost six, and Michaela, almost eight, got into the car, World War III broke out. It was driving me up and wall. We were about to embark on a five hour drive to Kearney, Nebraska and I was afraid.  The arguing that happened during a trip to the grocery store was unpleasant. I could only imagine what that would be like times ten.

One of my friends, Kelly Lawrence, came up with a life saving idea and I implemented it. I filled a bag for each of them with 25 dimes.  Each time they fought with each other (or basically did anything that annoyed us) I took one dime away.  They lost a total of .60.  The peace and quiet that $4.40 bought on that trip was some of the best money I have ever spent.  When the trip was over we took them to the dollar store, which is pretty much ‘kid heaven’.

It worked so well that I decided to make it a permanent fixture in our lives. I got pencil cases that are designed to clip into a binders, labeled them and filled them with dimes. Then I hung them from the back of the headrests in the car.   I don’t know how long it will work, but for now I’m no longer dreading the car.

Leave a Reply

