There is nothing I enjoy more than

MY FAMILY!

This weekend we were able to get away together to go see Gary’s grandparents.  Granddad is in his mid- nineties and his health has been quite a concern. We have had to cancel our last couple of trips because of his health. So when we got the call that he was up to having the eight of us in their mobile home, we jumped at it. We had a wonderful visit with them but one of the best parts of the trip was just getting to be together as a family, no distractions, no responsibilities, no jobs to run to. . . just us. And it was fun.

David is entering the stage of life that I find most difficult to parent – the time when they are extremely mobile and very limited in verbal skills. The other day I found him standing on the kitchen counter all by himself. He had climbed onto a chair and then somehow wiggled his way up. It is so stinking adorable. He makes everyone laugh all the time.

I see so much of the older girls in Michaela.  She loves to pack purses with every possible thing you could imagine. Then she spends a lot of time pulling each item out, thinking about it and putting it back. Elissa always did this and I think that she still does.  Her purse weighs more than she does.  And it is easy to see Sarah’s loyalty in her (they are both my little Huskers). But most of all, she reminds me of Stina in that she gets constant joy out of torturing those around her.

Just the other day a family friend was noticing how completely gorgeous Sarah is becoming. She is no longer a kid.  All of the little girl stuff is fading away. She loves talking on the phone with her friends. She is my second or third set of hands and arms whenever she is needed. She is lovely.

And then there’s Daniel. He has always had the ability to connect with people with his eyes. He knows how to melt my heart and his sister’s hearts too. He loves practical jokes.  Today he was able to convince a senior (who is a lot bigger than Daniel is) in my writing class at CCA that he would be receiving a “C”. This guy is an “A” student and did get an “A” for the quarter grades that went out. Daniel spent all morning torturing this student. Daniel is lucky to be alive right now.

Elissa is less than two months away from being finished with high school! She is one of the most determined people that I know. We were being very loud in the van (as it is impossible for us to be anything else) and I put up the question, “Who is the loudest person in our family?” Without hesitation, everyone yelled “Elissa”.  She has such a unique mix of sweetness, gentleness, kindness, etc (ad nauseam) with the side order of complete craziness.

We are having some much fun with Christina home. She is working in our office, so she is around all the time. I couldn’t be happier with this. She alternates between leading the rest of the children in a closer walk with God and leading them into constant trouble.  For example, “hoebag” is now a common part of our three-year-old’s vocabulary. She brings a party with her whereever she goes. I am delighted with every decision that she has made in her adult life. I can’t wait to see what God has next for her.

And then there is the love of my life: Gary Budd. He is such an incredible man. He brings me so much joy.

So we spent the weekend playing cards, playing kickball and just playing. Yes, we are loud and sometimes a wee bit out of control. And as a group we can be a little intimidating. But, there is no group of people with which I would rather share my life. We have rented a cabin and are all going to Estes Park in the next month. I can’t wait. I will also be buying earplugs.

Leave a Reply

